Text or call us at 423-218-0111
Queuniversity

What Do the Different User Permissions Levels Mean?

Last updated on

You can add as many users to your Text Request account as you want (at no extra charge), and each user can have one of three account access levels - what we call “user permissions levels.” Permissions levels are based on access to menu options.

Below we’ll cover each user permissions level (Administrator, Manager, and CSR), show you how to change a user’s permissions level, and share a few recommendations, too. For details on adding users, view our Users page.

Administrator

Administrators have access to everything, and they’re the only users than can control changes to what your account is charged (e.g. plan upgrades, additional text numbers, keywords).

All Administrators are automatically added as users on new text numbers. The user who purchased your account is an Administrator by default. Only Administrators can give or remove Administrator access to or from other users.

Here’s the full list of menu options Administrators can access:

  • Queue
  • Users
  • Settings
  • Account
  • Text Numbers
  • Help
  • Contacts
  • Integrations
  • Reports
  • My Profile

The Logout and Collapse menu options are not user specific.

Manager

Managers can access everything that doesn’t involve charges to your account (e.g. plan upgrades, additional text numbers, keywords). This is the default permissions level for all added users, though it can be changed as needed.

Here’s the full list of menu options Managers can access:

  • Queue
  • Users
  • Settings (excluding Keywords)
  • Help
  • Contacts
  • Integrations
  • Reports
  • My Profile

The Logout and Collapse menu options are not user specific. Note, Managers can add or delete users, but they cannot give or remove Administrator access. They can only give Manager or CSR access to users.

CSR (Customer Service Representative)

CSRs have “safe” access to Text Request. They cannot change settings, edit contacts, or make changes to what your account is charged. What they can do is send and receive messages in both the individual and group Queues.

Here’s the full list of menu options CSRs can access:

  • Queue
  • Help
  • My Profile

The Logout and Collapse menu options are not user specific.

Changing User Permissions Levels

Users cannot change their own permissions levels, and only Administrators can give or remove Administrator access to or from other users. Administrators cannot be deleted either, until their permissions level is changed by another Administrator.

Follow these steps to change a user’s permissions level:

  1. Go to your Users menu option.
  2. Click Edit next to the contact whose permissions level you want to change.
  3. Choose the new permissions level from the User Role dropdown menu. Administrators will see a text link to “Make this user an administrator.”
  4. Click Save.

In general, we recommend the main user(s) of the account have Administrator access, and that all others have Manager access. Possible exceptions are interns and new employees you don’t want accidentally making unwanted changes. For situations like these, we recommend CSR access.

For details on adding and deleting users, view our Adding and Deleting Users page.